Estate, History, Kinneil House, Kinneil Museum, walking

Friends volunteers to provide weekly outdoor guided tour at Kinneil House

Volunteer guides from the Friends of Kinneil will run a free, new, regular walking tour around the outside of Kinneil House and Kirk in Bo'ness every Saturday at 2pm, beginning on 18 September until the end of November. Explore the story of this magnificent 16th/17th-Century palace There is no need to book, just turn up… Continue reading Friends volunteers to provide weekly outdoor guided tour at Kinneil House

Estate, Friends, Kinneil House, Uncategorized

Do a House call at Kinneil this Saturday

One of Falkirk district’s most historic buildings is opening its doors for free tours this weekend. Kinneil House in Bo’ness – which boasts amazing renaissance wall paintings – will be open from 10 a.m. to noon on Saturday, March 19, 2016 (last admission 11.30 a.m.) The open morning is to support the Hippodrome Festival of… Continue reading Do a House call at Kinneil this Saturday

Friends, John Muir Way, romans

Get on your Way to Kinneil for a world-class weekend

Open afternoons at Kinneil House on April 18 and 19 Events mark World Heritage Day and first anniversary of launch of John Muir Way Costumed interpreter, ranger walks, and giveaways (see info). Free admission to House and revamped Kinneil Museum House open noon to 3 p.m. both days - museum open until 4 p.m. Historic… Continue reading Get on your Way to Kinneil for a world-class weekend


Friends remember James Watt

MEMBERS of The Friends of Kinneil charity - and their guests - have celebrated the life of James Watt (born on January 19, 1736) at the group's second annual James Watt Supper. Inspired by the traditional Burns' celebrations, the Watt Supper remembers the legacy of the great Scottish inventor, who did some of his early… Continue reading Friends remember James Watt


New James Watt banknote launched

A NEW £50 note featuring inventor James Watt – who did early work at Kinneil Estate in Bo’ness – has gone into circulation. The new Bank of England note portrays the Scottish engineer alongside business associate Matthew Boulton. Watt went into partnership with Boulton in the late 18th century - after an earlier partnership with… Continue reading New James Watt banknote launched


All set for 2011 Roman Week

THE FESTIVAL dubbed “nearly 2000 years in the making” kicks off next week . . . bringing a wealth of history – and lots of fun – to Falkirk district. The Big Roman Week starts on Monday, September 19, 2011 promising fun days, walks, talks . . . and lots of Romans. (Click here -… Continue reading All set for 2011 Roman Week

James Watt Supper

Remembering James Watt

ONE of Scotland’s greatest sons is being remembered this week – exactly 275 years after he was born. The inventor James Watt was born in Greenock on January 19, 1736. He went on to develop and improve the steam engine – the workhorse which powered the Industrial Revolution. On Friday (Jan 21), the charity The… Continue reading Remembering James Watt