Kinneil Museum in Bo'ness has re-opened to visitors after a four-month closure. The Museum features interactive displays and an audio video show highlighting the story of Kinneil and the wider Bo'ness area. The Museum is normally open every day except Tuesdays from 12.30 p.m. to 4 p.m. Admission is free of charge.
Kinneil Estate in Bo'ness is one of the locations for a new film about the Roman Antonine Wall. The mini movie highlights the work of the Rediscovering Antonine Wall project, part-financed by the National Lottery through its Heritage Fund. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hoAXqoROp9U Discover more about the Antonine Wall on this website.
It was the end of an era. On Tuesday, June 30, 1959, Bo’ness Docks were closed to commercial trade. A large crowd turned out to see the final vessel – a Dutch ship – sail out of the dock the next evening. The closure brought to an end a two-year fight between local people and… Continue reading End of an era: the closure of Bo’ness Docks
Seaview Place car park in Bo’ness was once home to the town’s original railway station. Work started on creating a branch line – an extension of the Slamannan Railway – in the 1840s, with the first revenue-earning train running in 1851. Initially the track was used to carry goods from the busy industrial complexes around… Continue reading Going full steam ahead to Bo’ness
“Although witchcraft has been legally abolished, the cult of the witch is so dear to humanity that it is, in some aspects, prevalent today as it was some centuries ago.” - TJ Salmon, 1913 December 23, 1679: five women and one man were burned at the stake at the glebe of Corbiehall (west of the… Continue reading When witches were burned at the stake
“During the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, both shores of the Firth of Forth were studded with salt pans, and a big export trade was developed.” -Historian TJ Salmon It was once called “white gold”. Sea salt was harvested in Scotland for hundreds of years – with the first salt pans being developed in the 12th… Continue reading Bo’ness and the search for ‘white gold’
A pier at Bridgeness first appeared on a map of 1775. Its small harbour, shown in the picture here, was used by vessels employed in the coal trade. It also welcomed boats carrying eggs from the Orkney Islands. Later Bridgeness and (further east along the shoreline) Carriden became a centre for shipbreaking. Nearby was a… Continue reading A harbour for coal – and eggs!
A NEW push to attract tourists to Bo’ness got underway this week. Bo’net – which represents dozens of groups in the town – updated and republished its free map and guide to attractions in the area. Copies will be available from local libraries and other outlets in the district. You can also download a PDF… Continue reading Bid to attract visitors to Estate and Nature Reserve
Libraries across Falkirk District are hosting special events to celebrate local history. The talks and celebratory events will include a presentation on the partnership of James Watt and Dr John Roebuck - and their links to Kinneil House and the Carron Iron Works. This evening talk is taking place on May 21 in Larbert Library.… Continue reading Discover local history in libraries
• Free tours inside mansion from noon • Additional guided visits to Watt’s cottage workshop Historic Kinneil House in Bo’ness is opening its doors for free tours on Saturday, April 27, 2019. The A-listed mansion – which boasts some of the finest Renaissance wall paintings in Scotland – will be open from noon to 4… Continue reading Discover James Watt at Kinneil House on April 27